Wednesday, November 9, 2011
WHAT IS GLUTEN:
Gluten is a protein most commonly found in wheat, rye, and barley. Oats are often avoided as well due to cross-contamination with other grains in the facility.
ARE THERE ANY GLUTEN-FREE GRAINS OR FLOURS:
Yes - rice, corn, quinoa, amaranth, arrowroot, buckwheat, montina, flax, millet, potato, sago, sorghum, topioca, cornstarch, and manioc. Flours from nuts, beans, and legumes are also gluten-free.
You need to store gluten-free food in a separate area. Use separate utensils and tools when preparing gluten-free products (don't forget things like the toaster!)
WHERE IS GLUTEN FOUND:
Besides the obvious, be aware of products including processed meats, canned goods, gravies and sauces, chips, dressings, soy sauce, thickeners, ice cream, broth, root beer, syrups, and imitation seafood. Look for tricky ingredient works including modified food starch, malt, and malt flavoring.
Anytime you try a new diet in order to asses an intolerance or food allergy, journal, journal, journal. This way, as you begin to experiment with different things, such as a gluten-free diet, you know if it is producing any changes.
Happy hump day!!!